How TrimBooking compares

An honest, side-by-side look at how TrimBooking stacks up against other booking platforms — where we're ahead, where we're behind, and who each one actually suits best.

TrimBooking vs. Revyfy, Fresha, Vagaro, Treatwell, Booksy & Phorest

Revyfy, Fresha, Vagaro, Treatwell, Booksy and Phorest take six quite different approaches to the same problem: a full salon-management suite, a per-staff subscription with a marketplace, a US-style all-in-one with modular add-ons, a commission-only marketplace with no subscription at all, a per-staff subscription with an optional paid marketplace boost, and a quote-only enterprise system aimed at larger, multi-chair salons. Figures below are taken from each platform's own public UK pricing where available. "Not specified" means we couldn't confirm that one either way — it doesn't necessarily mean the feature is missing, only that we didn't find a clear answer on their site.

Pricing

↔ Scroll sideways to see every platform — Feature and TrimBooking stay put.

FeatureTrimBookingRevyfyFreshaVagaroTreatwellBooksyPhorest
Pricing modelFlat fee + per extra staffFlat fee, unlimited staffPer bookable team memberFlat fee + per extra calendarNo subscription — commission per bookingFlat fee + per extra staffQuote-based, tiered plans
Cost for a solo operator£25.00/month£39.99/month£19.95/month£20/month (UK pricing)No official monthly fee£40/month + VATNot published — quote only
Cost for 4 staff (approx.)£25.00/month£39.99/month~£64.80/month (£19.95 + 3 × £14.95)~£44/month (£20 + 3 extra calendars, billed in USD)No official monthly fee~£55/month + VAT (£40 + 3 × £5 staff)Not published — quote only
Commission per bookingNoneNone20% one-off on new clients (min £6), free on repeatNone35% + VAT on new clients (~42% effective), free on repeatNone, unless Boost marketing is switched onNone stated — but a per-booking online fee applies
Payment processing feeStripe's standard rateNot specified2.79% + 20p online, 2.29% + 20p + 10p in personNot specified for UK — US rate ~2.6% + $0.102.5% + VAT online, or 1.1% + 20p + VAT on card machine1.29% + 20p + VAT mobile, 0.99% + 20p + VAT tap-to-payNot specified
AI assistant—+£24.99/month add-on+£99.95/location add-onIncludedAI receptionist mentioned, pricing not specifiedNot specifiedNot specified
ContractNone, cancel any timeNone, cancel any timeNone statedNone, cancel any timeNone, free to joinNone, cancel any timeTypically 1 year minimum
Free trial30 days, no card14 days, no card7 days30 daysNot applicable (no subscription)7 days, no cardNot offered

Booking & scheduling

↔ Scroll sideways to see every platform — Feature and TrimBooking stay put.

FeatureTrimBookingRevyfyFreshaVagaroTreatwellBooksyPhorest
Branded booking pageYesYesYesYesMarketplace listing, not a branded pageYesYes
Your branding throughout — logo, colours, background, font, headline, email wording and phone home-screen iconYes, all includedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified
A page that's only your business (no competitors listed alongside you)Yes — your own booking page, not a marketplaceNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedMarketplace listing alongside other businessesNot specifiedNot specified
Import name, logo, colours & font, address, hours, services, staff & policies from your existing websiteYes, free, with a review step before anything savesNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified
Staff calendars, hours, breaks & holidaysYesYesYesYesNot specifiedYesYes
Accept/decline or auto-confirm bookingsYesAutomatic confirmationNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified
Parallel treatment (e.g. colour processing time)YesYesNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified
Waitlist for cancelled slotsYes, auto-offered by email with a 24h accept windowYesYesNot specifiedNot specifiedYesNot specified
Room & equipment scheduling—YesNot specifiedYesNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified
SMS remindersYes, free — using your own Twilio accountYesYes, free allowance then pay-per-textNot specifiedNot specifiedYes, 500 free/month then 5p + VATYes, paid above bundle allowance
WhatsApp remindersYes, free — direct with your own WhatsApp Business number, or through Twilio (Meta template approval required)Not specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified
Email confirmations & remindersYesYesYes, free allowance then pay-per-emailYes, 1,000 free/monthNot specifiedYesYes
Owner-editable email wordingYes, every email type, freeNot specifiedYes (email builder)Not specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified
Automatic “time to rebook” nudge emailYesNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified
Repeat-booking alerts (customer with several bookings close together)Yes, colour-coded by priority, on dashboard and Telegram/SMSNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified
Staff/owner phone bookings & deliberate double bookingsYes, from the owner and staff calendarsNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified
Rebook from a booking, with suggested times from the customer's visit patternYes — week calendar of free slots, best times starred; plus a Rebook button in the thank-you emailNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified
Offer the customer an alternative time, confirmed only when they acceptYes — new time held for them, accepted from their booking linkNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified
Patch-test check for colour, lash & brow services (customer confirms or is asked to arrange one; staff mark it done on the booking)Yes — per service, with a 48-hour (adjustable) notice; these bookings always wait for you to confirmNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified
Customer photo/document attachments on bookingsYes — private to the shop, also sent to your TelegramNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified
Separate parallel calendars per category (e.g. in-shop and mobile/off-site team)Yes — capacity set by how many staff are linkedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified
Import clients & future appointments from another booking platformYes — Fresha, Vagaro, Booksy, Timely, Phorest, Square, Setmore, Treatwell, Revyfy or a spreadsheet (CSV/Excel)Not specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified
Instant Telegram alerts for new bookings/cancellationsYes, free — shop-wide for the owner, plus each self-employed team member's own botNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified

Staff & money

↔ Scroll sideways to see every platform — Feature and TrimBooking stay put.

FeatureTrimBookingRevyfyFreshaVagaroTreatwellBooksyPhorest
Seat commission for self-employed staff, as a % of takingsYes, owner sets the rate; owner sees only the commission due, staff see the shared %Not specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified
Self-employed staff edit their own hours, breaks & servicesYes, from their own staff portalNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified
Self-employed staff: earnings private by defaultYesNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified
Employed staff: owner sees schedule & earningsYesYesYes (commissions, wages, timesheets)Not specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified
Team roles: owner, dashboard admins and view-only staff who can still manage the team's bookingsYes — earnings, billing and commission stay owner-onlyNot specifiedYes (permission levels)Yes (permission levels)Not specifiedYes (staff access levels)Yes (permission levels)
No-show protection (card held, charged only on no-show)YesDeposit at bookingNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified
No-show fee paid straight to staff's own accountYesNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified
Staff's own insights (takings, best week, regulars)YesNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified

Business insights

↔ Scroll sideways to see every platform — Feature and TrimBooking stay put.

FeatureTrimBookingRevyfyFreshaVagaroTreatwellBooksyPhorest
Revenue, appointments, utilisation, avg. spendYesYesYes (reporting)Yes (advanced reporting)Basic performance trackingYes (stats & reporting)Yes (reporting suite)
Busy/quiet heatmapYesNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified
Top spenders & lapsed clientsYesNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified
By-team-member breakdownYesYesYes (Team plan)Not specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified
AI assistant for business questions—Optional add-onOptional add-onIncludedMentioned (AI receptionist)Not specifiedAds Manager on top tier only (not a Q&A assistant)

Beyond booking

↔ Scroll sideways to see every platform — Feature and TrimBooking stay put.

FeatureTrimBookingRevyfyFreshaVagaroTreatwellBooksyPhorest
Card payments / POS for retail—YesYesYesPayments only (Treatwell Pay)YesYes
Gift cards & loyalty rewards—YesYes, loyalty is a paid add-onYesNot specifiedYesNot specified
Marketing & SMS campaigns—YesYes, pay-per-message above free allowanceYesMarketplace exposure, not campaign toolsYes, plus optional paid Boost marketplace exposureYes, SMS/chat add-ons; Ads Manager on top tier
Consent / consultation forms—YesYesYes (SOAP notes & forms)Not specifiedYes (custom forms & waivers)Not specified
Detailed client records (formulas, allergies, tags)Basic visit historyYesYesNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified
Messaging uses your own accounts — Telegram, SMS (Twilio) and WhatsApp (direct with Meta, or through Twilio) alerts and reminders are free features of TrimBooking itself; you only ever pay your own provider directly for what you send, and TrimBooking never marks that up or sees the cost. Already use a different SMS or WhatsApp provider, or need something messaged in or out that isn't covered above? Get in touch — additional providers can be integrated on request.

The honest summary

TrimBooking is a leaner, cheaper tool focused on booking, staff scheduling and business insights — built specifically around how small barbershops, salons and grooming businesses actually run, including teams with a mix of employed staff and chair-renting self-employed staff. For a team of four or fewer, you pay about £15 a month less than Revyfy and well under Booksy, Fresha or Vagaro, with no commission eating into every booking the way Treatwell's does.

  • Revyfy is the closest match in spirit — a flat monthly fee, no commission — but a fuller suite (POS, retail, marketing, forms) at a flat price regardless of team size, which overtakes TrimBooking's per-staff pricing once you're past around 12 staff.
  • Fresha charges per bookable team member plus a one-off commission on new marketplace clients, plus pay-as-you-go email/SMS and several paid add-ons (AI, loyalty, insights) — the headline price is low, but it adds up quickly once a team and its extras grow.
  • Vagaro actually quotes a genuine UK price — £20/month for one location, a little under TrimBooking's own fee. But that's only the base plan: extra staff calendars, and most add-ons (website, marketing, payments), are still billed in US dollars, so the real monthly cost for a team of several staff ends up part-GBP, part-USD and moves with the exchange rate.
  • Treatwell isn't really a back-office system at all — no official monthly fee in the UK, but a 35% + VAT commission (≈42% effective) on every new client it brings you, dropping to 0% on their repeat visits. It's better thought of as a marketing/lead-generation channel to run alongside a real booking system than a replacement for one — and a few partners have reported an undisclosed software fee in their contract, so it's worth checking your own agreement rather than assuming it's free.
  • Booksy is priced a lot like TrimBooking — a flat monthly fee plus a per-extra-staff charge — but roughly double the cost (£40/month + VAT for one user, £5/month + VAT per extra team member) and with no commission unless you switch on its optional "Boost" marketplace feature, which then takes 30% + VAT on a new client's first visit.
  • Phorest doesn't publish pricing at all — every quote is custom, typically tied to a one-year contract, with a small per-booking online fee on top. It's aimed more at larger, multi-chair salon groups than at a small independent team, and third-party reviewers warn the real cost tends to show up in add-ons and renewal rather than the headline quote.
In short: choose TrimBooking if you want booking, staff earnings privacy and insights done well and cheaply for a small team, with nothing taken as commission. Choose Revyfy, Fresha, Vagaro or Booksy if you need a full salon-management suite — POS, retail, marketing, forms — and are happy to pay more for it. Treatwell is worth having alongside any of these for the marketplace exposure, not instead of one. Phorest is worth a look only if you're a larger, multi-location salon group happy to commit to a contract and a custom quote.

Vagaro's £20/month base fee is a genuine UK price, but extra staff calendars and most add-ons are still billed in US dollars — so a multi-staff Vagaro bill will move with the GBP/USD exchange rate. Fresha's figures above are its own published UK (£) pricing, not a currency conversion. Treatwell doesn't publish a UK subscription fee, so we've shown none — some partner agreements reportedly include one, so check your own contract. Phorest doesn't publish pricing anywhere, so its figures above reflect contract terms and fee types third-party reviewers have reported, not an official price list — get a quote from Phorest directly for your own team size. Every platform's pricing and feature set can change at any time — we keep this page updated as we notice changes, but always double-check anything pricing-critical on the provider's own site before deciding. If you'd like us to add another platform, let us know at pagraham144@gmail.com.

Ready to try TrimBooking?

Free for 30 days, no card required — see for yourself.

Get started🏪 See a live demo shop